A Caltech Library Service

Photo-oxidation of aromatic hydrocarbons produces low-volatility organic compounds

Wang, Mingyi and Chen, Dexian and Xiao, Mao and Ye, Qing and Stolzenburg, Dominik and Hofbauer, Victoria and Ye, Penglin and Vogel, Alexander Lucas and Mauldin, Roy L. and Amorim, Antonio and Baccarini, Andrea and Baumgartner, Bernhard and Brilke, Sophia and Dada, Lubna and Dias, António and Duplissy, Jonathan and Finkenzeller, Henning and Garmash, Olga and He, Xucheng and Hoyle, Christopher R. and Kim, Changhyuk and Kvashnin, Alexander and Lehtipalo, Katrianne and Fischer, Lukas and Molteni, Ugo and Petäjä, Tuukka and Pospisilova, Veronika and Quéléver, Lauriane L. J.  and Rissanen, Matti P. and Simon, Mario and Tauber, Christian and Tomé, António and Wagner, Andrea C. and Weitz, Lena and Volkamer, Rainer and Winkler, P. M. and Kirkby, Jasper and Worsnop, Douglas R. and Kulmala, Markku and Baltensperger, Urs and Dommen, Josef and El Haddad, Imad and Donahue, Neil M. (2020) Photo-oxidation of aromatic hydrocarbons produces low-volatility organic compounds. Environmental Science and Technology, 54 (13). pp. 7911-7921. ISSN 0013-936X. doi:10.1021/acs.est.0c02100.

[img] PDF - Accepted Version
See Usage Policy.

[img] PDF (Figure S1, Correlation of inverse maximum desorption temperature (1/Tmax) and the saturation concentration (log C*); Figure S2, example of thermograms; and Figure S3, measured and predicted volatility) - Supplemental Material
See Usage Policy.


Use this Persistent URL to link to this item:


To better understand the role of aromatic hydrocarbons in new-particle formation, we measured the particle-phase abundance and volatility of oxidation products following the reaction of aromatic hydrocarbons with OH radicals. For this we used thermal desorption in an iodide-adduct Time-of-Flight Chemical-Ionization Mass Spectrometer equipped with a Filter Inlet for Gases and AEROsols (FIGAERO-ToF-CIMS). The particle-phase volatility measurements confirm that oxidation products of toluene and naphthalene can contribute to the initial growth of newly formed particles. Toluene-derived (C₇) oxidation products have a similar volatility distribution to that of α-pinene-derived (C₁₀) oxidation products, while naphthalene-derived (C₁₀) oxidation products are much less volatile than those from toluene or α-pinene; they are thus stronger contributors to growth. Rapid progression through multiple generations of oxidation is more pronounced in toluene and naphthalene than in α-pinene, resulting in more oxidation but also favoring functional groups with much lower volatility per added oxygen atom, such as hydroxyl and carboxylic groups instead of hydroperoxide groups. Under conditions typical of polluted urban settings, naphthalene may well contribute to nucleation and the growth of the smallest particles, whereas the more abundant alkyl benzenes may overtake naphthalene once the particles have grown beyond the point where the Kelvin effect strongly influences the condensation driving force.

Item Type:Article
Related URLs:
URLURL TypeDescription
Wang, Mingyi0000-0001-5782-2513
Kim, Changhyuk0000-0002-8744-4880
Additional Information:© 2020 American Chemical Society. Received: April 4, 2020; Revised: June 2, 2020; Accepted: June 9, 2020; Published: June 9, 2020. We thank the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN) for supporting CLOUD with important technical and financial resources and for providing a particle beam from the CERN Proton Synchrotron. This research has received funding from the U.S. National Science Foundation under grants AGS-1447056, AGS-1439551, AGS-1649147, AGS-1602086, and AGS-1801897; the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (No. 01LK1601A); ERC-Consolidator Grant NANODYNAMITE 616075; Horizon 2020 Marie Skłodowska-Curie Grant 656994 (“Nano-CAVa”); ERC Advanced “ATM-GP” grant No. 227463; the Presidium of the Russian Academy of Sciences, the Program “High energy physics and neutrino astrophysics” 2015; the Swiss National Science Foundation Projects 200020_152907, 20FI20_159851, 200021_169090, 200020_172602, and 20FI20_172622. The FIGAERO–CIMS was supported by an MRI grant for the U.S. NSF AGS-1531284 as well as the Wallace Research Foundation. O.G. thanks the Doctoral Programme in Atmospheric Sciences at the University of Helsinki for financial support. Author Contributions: M.W., D.C., M.X., J.K., D.R.W., U.B., J.Do., I.E.-H., and N.M.D. designed the research; M.W., D.C., M.X., Q.Y., D.S., V.H., P.Y., A.L.V., R.L.M., A.A., A.B., B.B., S.B., L.D., A.D., J.Du., H.F., O.G., X.H., C.R.H., C.K., A.K., K.L., F.L., U.M., T.P., V.P., L.L. J.Q., M.R., M.S., C.T., A.T., A.C.W., L.W., J.K., J.Do., and I.E.-H. performed the research; M.W., M.X., D.S., and N.M.D. contributed new reagents/analytic tools; M.W., M.X., D.S., P.Y., and M.S. analyzed the data; and M.W., D.C., M.X., A.L.V., U.M., J.K., U.B., J.Do., I.E.-H., and N.M.D. wrote the paper. The authors declare no competing financial interest.
Funding AgencyGrant Number
Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF)01LK1601A
European Research Council (ERC)616075
Marie Curie Fellowship656994
European Research Council (ERC)227463
Presidium of the Russian Academy of SciencesUNSPECIFIED
Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF)200020_152907
Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF)20FI20_159851
Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF)200021_169090
Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF)200020_172602
Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF)20FI20_172622
Wallace Research FoundationUNSPECIFIED
University of HelsinkiUNSPECIFIED
Issue or Number:13
Record Number:CaltechAUTHORS:20200609-144136778
Persistent URL:
Official Citation:Photo-oxidation of Aromatic Hydrocarbons Produces Low-Volatility Organic Compounds. Mingyi Wang, Dexian Chen, Mao Xiao, Qing Ye, Dominik Stolzenburg, Victoria Hofbauer, Penglin Ye, Alexander L. Vogel, Roy L. Mauldin, Antonio Amorim, Andrea Baccarini, Bernhard Baumgartner, Sophia Brilke, Lubna Dada, António Dias, Jonathan Duplissy, Henning Finkenzeller, Olga Garmash, Xu-Cheng He, Christopher R. Hoyle, Changhyuk Kim, Alexander Kvashnin, Katrianne Lehtipalo, Lukas Fischer, Ugo Molteni, Tuukka Petäjä, Veronika Pospisilova, Lauriane L. J. Quéléver, Matti Rissanen, Mario Simon, Christian Tauber, António Tomé, Andrea C. Wagner, Lena Weitz, Rainer Volkamer, Paul M. Winkler, Jasper Kirkby, Douglas R. Worsnop, Markku Kulmala, Urs Baltensperger, Josef Dommen, Imad El-Haddad, and Neil M. Donahue. Environmental Science & Technology 2020 54 (13), 7911-7921; DOI: 10.1021/acs.est.0c02100
Usage Policy:No commercial reproduction, distribution, display or performance rights in this work are provided.
ID Code:103803
Deposited By: Tony Diaz
Deposited On:09 Jun 2020 21:53
Last Modified:16 Nov 2021 18:25

Repository Staff Only: item control page