A Caltech Library Service

Consensus statement: Standardized reporting of power-producing luminescent solar concentrator performance

Yang, Chenchen and Atwater, Harry A. and Baldo, Marc A. and Baran, Derya and Barile, Christopher J. and Barr, Miles C. and Bates, Matthew and Bawendi, Moungi G. and Bergren, Matthew R. and Borhan, Babak and Brabec, Christoph J. and Brovelli, Sergio and Bulović, Vladimir and Ceroni, Paola and Debije, Michael G. and Delgado-Sanchez, Jose-Maria and Dong, Wen-Ji and Duxbury, Phillip M. and Evans, Rachel C. and Forrest, Stephen R. and Gamelin, Daniel R. and Giebink, Noel C. and Gong, Xiao and Griffini, Gianmarco and Guo, Fei and Herrera, Christopher K. and Ho-Baillie, Anita W. Y. and Holmes, Russell J. and Hong, Sung-Kyu and Kirchartz, Thomas and Levine, Benjamin G. and Li, Hongbo and Li, Yilin and Liu, Dianyi and Loi, Maria A. and Luscombe, Christine K. and Makarov, Nikolay S. and Mateen, Fahad and Mazzaro, Raffaello and McDaniel, Hunter and McGehee, Michael D. and Meinardi, Francesco and Menéndez-Velázquez, Amador and Min, Jie and Mitzi, David B. and Moemeni, Mehdi and Moon, Jun Hyuk and Nattestad, Andrew and Nazeeruddin, Mohammad K. and Nogueira, Ana F. and Paetzold, Ulrich W. and Patrick, David L. and Pucci, Andrea and Rand, Barry P. and Reichmanis, Elsa and Richards, Bryce S. and Roncali, Jean and Rosei, Federico and Schmidt, Timothy W. and So, Franky and Tu, Chang-Ching and Vahdani, Aria and van Sark, Wilfried G. J. H. M. and Verduzco, Rafael and Vomiero, Alberto and Wong, Wallace W. H. and Wu, Kaifeng and Yip, Hin-Lap and Zhang, Xiaowei and Zhao, Haiguang and Lunt, Richard R. (2022) Consensus statement: Standardized reporting of power-producing luminescent solar concentrator performance. Joule, 6 (1). pp. 8-15. ISSN 2542-4351. doi:10.1016/j.joule.2021.12.004.

[img] PDF (Table S1. Checklist for power-producing luminescent solar concentrator manuscripts) - Supplemental Material
See Usage Policy.


Use this Persistent URL to link to this item:


Fair and meaningful device performance comparison among luminescent solar concentrator-photovoltaic (LSC-PV) reports cannot be realized without a general consensus on reporting standards in LSC-PV research. Therefore, it is imperative to adopt standardized characterization protocols for these emerging types of PV devices that are consistent with other PV devices. This commentary highlights several common limitations in LSC literature and summarizes the best practices moving forward to harmonize with standard PV reporting, considering the greater nuances present with LSC-PV. Based on these practices, a checklist of actionable items is provided to help standardize the characterization/reporting protocols and offer a set of baseline expectations for authors, reviewers, and editors. The general consensus combined with the checklist will ultimately guide LSC-PV research towards reliable and meaningful advances.

Item Type:Article
Related URLs:
URLURL TypeDescription
Atwater, Harry A.0000-0001-9435-0201
Debije, Michael G.0000-0001-8844-1115
Delgado-Sanchez, Jose-Maria0000-0002-6960-123X
Dong, Wen-Ji0000-0002-9846-7084
Evans, Rachel C.0000-0003-2956-4857
Gamelin, Daniel R.0000-0003-2888-9916
Li, Yilin0000-0001-9408-6738
McDaniel, Hunter0000-0002-5009-918X
McGehee, Michael D.0000-0001-9609-9030
Nattestad, Andrew0000-0002-1311-8951
Paetzold, Ulrich W.0000-0002-1557-8361
Patrick, David L.0000-0003-3543-9868
Pucci, Andrea0000-0003-1278-5004
Reichmanis, Elsa0000-0002-8205-8016
Richards, Bryce S.0000-0001-5469-048X
Roncali, Jean0000-0002-3429-0355
Schmidt, Timothy W.0000-0001-6691-1438
Tu, Chang-Ching0000-0002-9233-1928
Wong, Wallace W. H.0000-0001-7131-8532
Yip, Hin-Lap0000-0002-5750-9751
Zhang, Xiaowei0000-0001-7443-0562
Lunt, Richard R.0000-0003-4248-6312
Additional Information:© 2021 Published by Elsevier. Available online 19 January 2022. C.Y. and R.R.L. acknowledge financial support under National Science Foundation grant CBET-1702591. D.R.G. thanks the National Science Foundation (DMR-1719797) for support. A.H.-B. is supported by the Australian Research Council (ARC) Future Fellowship FT210100210. F.R. is grateful to the Canada Research Chairs program for partial salary support. A. Vomiero acknowledges financial support from the Kempe Foundation and the Knut & Alice Wallenberg Foundation. Declaration of interests. M.C.B. (CTO), V.B., and R.R.L. are founders and non-majority owners of Ubiquitous Energy, Inc., a company working to commercialize TPV and TLSC technologies. H.M. (CEO) is a founder and non-majority owner of UbiQD, Inc., a company working to commercialize LSC and TLSC technologies. M.R.B and N.S.M. are non-majority owners of UbiQD, Inc. D.R.G. is a founder and non-majority owner of BlueDot Photonics, Inc., a company working to commercialize QC spectral-downconversion PV technologies. F. Meinardi is a founder and non-majority owner of Glass to Power SpA, a company working to commercialize LSC technologies.
Funding AgencyGrant Number
Australian Research CouncilFT210100210
Canada Research ChairsUNSPECIFIED
Kempe FoundationUNSPECIFIED
Knut and Alice Wallenberg FoundationUNSPECIFIED
Issue or Number:1
Record Number:CaltechAUTHORS:20220121-968253000
Persistent URL:
Official Citation:Chenchen Yang, Harry A. Atwater, Marc A. Baldo, Derya Baran, Christopher J. Barile, Miles C. Barr, Matthew Bates, Moungi G. Bawendi, Matthew R. Bergren, Babak Borhan, Christoph J. Brabec, Sergio Brovelli, Vladimir Bulović, Paola Ceroni, Michael G. Debije, Jose-Maria Delgado-Sanchez, Wen-Ji Dong, Phillip M. Duxbury, Rachel C. Evans, Stephen R. Forrest, Daniel R. Gamelin, Noel C. Giebink, Xiao Gong, Gianmarco Griffini, Fei Guo, Christopher K. Herrera, Anita W.Y. Ho-Baillie, Russell J. Holmes, Sung-Kyu Hong, Thomas Kirchartz, Benjamin G. Levine, Hongbo Li, Yilin Li, Dianyi Liu, Maria A. Loi, Christine K. Luscombe, Nikolay S. Makarov, Fahad Mateen, Raffaello Mazzaro, Hunter McDaniel, Michael D. McGehee, Francesco Meinardi, Amador Menéndez-Velázquez, Jie Min, David B. Mitzi, Mehdi Moemeni, Jun Hyuk Moon, Andrew Nattestad, Mohammad K. Nazeeruddin, Ana F. Nogueira, Ulrich W. Paetzold, David L. Patrick, Andrea Pucci, Barry P. Rand, Elsa Reichmanis, Bryce S. Richards, Jean Roncali, Federico Rosei, Timothy W. Schmidt, Franky So, Chang-Ching Tu, Aria Vahdani, Wilfried G.J.H.M. van Sark, Rafael Verduzco, Alberto Vomiero, Wallace W.H. Wong, Kaifeng Wu, Hin-Lap Yip, Xiaowei Zhang, Haiguang Zhao, Richard R. Lunt, Consensus statement: Standardized reporting of power-producing luminescent solar concentrator performance, Joule, Volume 6, Issue 1, 2022, Pages 8-15, ISSN 2542-4351,
Usage Policy:No commercial reproduction, distribution, display or performance rights in this work are provided.
ID Code:113061
Deposited By: George Porter
Deposited On:24 Jan 2022 17:12
Last Modified:10 May 2022 18:36

Repository Staff Only: item control page