A Caltech Library Service

Theoretical analysis of drag resistance in amorphous thin films exhibiting superconductor-insulator transitions

Zou, Yue and Refael, Gil and Yoon, Jongsoo (2010) Theoretical analysis of drag resistance in amorphous thin films exhibiting superconductor-insulator transitions. Physical Review B, 82 (10). Art. No. 104515. ISSN 0163-1829. doi:10.1103/PhysRevB.82.104515.

PDF - Published Version
See Usage Policy.


Use this Persistent URL to link to this item:


The magnetical field tuned superconductor-insulator transition in amorphous thin films, e.g., Ta and InO, exhibits a range of yet unexplained curious phenomena, such as a putative low-resistance metallic phase intervening the superconducting and the insulating phase, and a huge peak in the magnetoresistance at large magnetic field. Qualitatively, the phenomena can be explained equally well within several significantly different pictures, particularly the condensation of quantum vortex liquid, and the percolation of superconducting islands embedded in normal region. Recently, we proposed and analyzed a distinct measurement in Y. Zou, G. Refael, and J. Yoon, Phys. Rev. B 80, 180503 (2009) that should be able to decisively point to the correct picture: a drag resistance measurement in an amorphous thin-film bilayer setup. Neglecting interlayer tunneling, we found that the drag resistance within the vortex paradigm has opposite sign and is orders of magnitude larger than that in competing paradigms. For example, two identical films as in G. Sambandamurthy, L. W. Engel, A. Johansson, and D. Shahar, Phys. Rev. Lett. 92, 107005 _2004_ with 25 nm layer separation at 0.07 K would produce a drag resistance ~10^(−4) Ω according the vortex theory but only ~10^(−12) Ω for the percolation theory. We provide details of our theoretical analysis of the drag resistance within both paradigms and report some results as well.

Item Type:Article
Related URLs:
Additional Information:© 2010 The American Physical Society. Received 20 May 2010; published 20 September 2010. It is a pleasure to thank Yonatan Dubi, Jim Eisenstein, Alexander Finkel’stein, Alex Kamenev, Yen-Hsiang Lin, Yigal Meir, Yuval Oreg, Philip Phillips, Ady Stern, Jiansheng Wu, and Ke Xu for stimulating discussions. This work was supported by the Research Corporation’s Cottrell award (G.R.), and by NSF through Grant No. DMR-0239450 (J.Y.).
Funding AgencyGrant Number
Research Corporation Cottrell AwardUNSPECIFIED
Issue or Number:10
Classification Code:PACS: 74.25.Uv, 74.78.Fk, 73.43.Nq
Record Number:CaltechAUTHORS:20101025-114133254
Persistent URL:
Usage Policy:No commercial reproduction, distribution, display or performance rights in this work are provided.
ID Code:20508
Deposited By: Tony Diaz
Deposited On:15 Nov 2010 20:28
Last Modified:09 Nov 2021 00:00

Repository Staff Only: item control page