A Caltech Library Service

Herschel-ATLAS: Evolution of the 250 µm luminosity function out to z = 0.5

Dye, S. and Blain, A. W. (2010) Herschel-ATLAS: Evolution of the 250 µm luminosity function out to z = 0.5. Astronomy and Astrophysics, 518 . L10. ISSN 0004-6361.

PDF - Published Version
See Usage Policy.


Use this Persistent URL to link to this item:


We have determined the luminosity function of 250 μm-selected galaxies detected in the ~14 deg^2 science demonstration region of the Herschel-ATLAS project out to a redshift of z = 0.5. Our findings very clearly show that the luminosity function evolves steadily out to this redshift. By selecting a sub-group of sources within a fixed luminosity interval where incompleteness effects are minimal, we have measured a smooth increase in the comoving 250 μm luminosity density out to z = 0.2 where it is 3.6^(+1.4_(-0.9) times higher than the local value.

Item Type:Article
Related URLs:
URLURL TypeDescription
Blain, A. W.0000-0001-7489-5167
Additional Information:© 2010 ESO. Received 31 March 2010; Accepted 13 May 2010; Published online 16 July 2010. Herschel is an ESA space observatory with science instruments provided by European-led Principal Investigator consortia and with important participation from NASA. S.D. Acknowledges the UK STFC for support.
Funding AgencyGrant Number
Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC)UNSPECIFIED
Subject Keywords:galaxies: luminosity function, mass function; cosmology: observations; large-scale structure of Universe
Record Number:CaltechAUTHORS:20101117-141641337
Persistent URL:
Official Citation:Herschel-ATLAS: Evolution of the 250 µm luminosity function out to z = 0.5 S. Dye, L. Dunne, S. Eales, D. J. B. Smith, A. Amblard, R. Auld, M. Baes, I. K. Baldry, S. Bamford, A. W. Blain, D. G. Bonfield, M. Bremer, D. Burgarella, S. Buttiglione, E. Cameron, A. Cava, D. L. Clements, A. Cooray, S. Croom, A. Dariush, G. de Zotti, S. Driver, J. S. Dunlop, D. Frayer, J. Fritz, Jonathan P. Gardner, H. L. Gomez, J. Gonzalez-Nuevo, D. Herranz, D. Hill, A. Hopkins, E. Ibar, R. J. Ivison, M. J. Jarvis, D. H. Jones, L. Kelvin, G. Lagache, L. Leeuw, J. Liske, M. Lopez-Caniego, J. Loveday, S. Maddox, M. J. Michałowski, M. Negrello, P. Norberg, M. J. Page, H. Parkinson, E. Pascale, J. A. Peacock, M. Pohlen, C. Popescu, M. Prescott, D. Rigopoulou, A. Robotham, E. Rigby, G. Rodighiero, S. Samui, D. Scott, S. Serjeant, R. Sharp, B. Sibthorpe, P. Temi, M. A. Thompson, R. Tuffs, I. Valtchanov, P. P. van der Werf, E. van Kampen and A. Verma A&A 518 L10 (2010) DOI: 10.1051/0004-6361/201014614
Usage Policy:No commercial reproduction, distribution, display or performance rights in this work are provided.
ID Code:20865
Deposited By: Jason Perez
Deposited On:18 Nov 2010 17:00
Last Modified:09 Mar 2020 13:18

Repository Staff Only: item control page