A Caltech Library Service

Recognizing Activist-Scholars: 1999 Lillian Smith Award Winners

Kousser, J. Morgan (1999) Recognizing Activist-Scholars: 1999 Lillian Smith Award Winners. Southern Changes, 21 (4). pp. 8-13. ISSN 0193-2446.

PDF - Draft Version
See Usage Policy.


Use this Persistent URL to link to this item:


On November 6, 1999, the Lillian Smith Book Award for nonfiction was given to J. Morgan Kousser for Colorblind Injustice: Minority Voting Rights and the Undoing of the Second Reconstruction, University of North Carolina Press; and to Leroy Davis for A Clashing of the Soul: John Hope and the Dilemma of African American Leadership and Black Higher Education in the Early Twentieth Century, University of Georgia Press. Below are remarks from the winners and former SRC president Paul Gaston and Lillian Smith jury member Rose Gladney who introduced Kousser and Davis.

Item Type:Article
Alternate Title:Remarks for Lillian Smith Award Luncheon, Nov. 6, 1999
Additional Information:© 1999 Southern Regional Council.
Issue or Number:4
Record Number:CaltechAUTHORS:20130829-140851204
Persistent URL:
Usage Policy:No commercial reproduction, distribution, display or performance rights in this work are provided.
ID Code:40997
Deposited By: SWORD User
Deposited On:03 Sep 2013 21:19
Last Modified:03 Oct 2019 05:45

Repository Staff Only: item control page