A Caltech Library Service

Electrocatalysis of the hydrogen-evolution reaction by electrodeposited amorphous cobalt selenide films

Carim, Azhar I. and Saadi, Fadl H. and Soriaga, Manuel P. and Lewis, Nathan S. (2014) Electrocatalysis of the hydrogen-evolution reaction by electrodeposited amorphous cobalt selenide films. Journal of Materials Chemistry A, 2 (34). pp. 13835-13839. ISSN 2050-7488. doi:10.1039/C4TA02611J.

PDF - Published Version
See Usage Policy.

PDF - Supplemental Material
See Usage Policy.


Use this Persistent URL to link to this item:


Using an electrochemical method under ambient conditions, crystallographically amorphous films of cobalt selenide have been deposited from aqueous solution onto planar Ti supports. These films have been evaluated as electrocatalysts for the hydrogen-evolution reaction. In 0.500 M H_2SO_4, the cobalt selenide films required an overpotential of ~135 mV to drive the hydrogen-evolution reaction at a benchmark current density of −10 mA cm^(−2). Galvanostatic measurements indicated stability of the electrocatalytic films for >16 h of continuous operation at −10 mA cm^(−2). The facile preparation method, and the activity of the cobalt selenide films, suggest that electrodeposited metal chalcogenides are potentially attractive earth-abundant electrocatalysts for the hydrogen-evolution reaction.

Item Type:Article
Related URLs:
URLURL TypeDescription Information
Carim, Azhar I.0000-0003-3630-6872
Saadi, Fadl H.0000-0003-3941-0464
Soriaga, Manuel P.0000-0002-0077-6226
Lewis, Nathan S.0000-0001-5245-0538
Additional Information:© 2014 The Royal Society of Chemistry. Received 25th May 2014. Accepted 11th June 2014. First published online 24 Jul 2014. This material is based in part upon work performed by the Joint Center for Artificial photosynthesis, a DOE Energy Innovation Hub, supported through the Office of Science of the U. S. Department of Energy under Award Number DE-SC0004993. The authors gratefully acknowledge Dr S. Mitrovic for assistance with X-ray photoelectron spectra acquisition, R. Gerhart for assistance with cell fabrication and Dr J. H. Baricuatro for insightful discussions. AIC recognizes a Graduate Research Fellowship from the National Science Foundation for support.
Group:Kavli Nanoscience Institute, JCAP
Funding AgencyGrant Number
Department of Energy (DOE)DE-SC0004993
NSF Graduate Research FellowshipUNSPECIFIED
Issue or Number:34
Record Number:CaltechAUTHORS:20140804-095437360
Persistent URL:
Usage Policy:No commercial reproduction, distribution, display or performance rights in this work are provided.
ID Code:47878
Deposited By: Ruth Sustaita
Deposited On:04 Aug 2014 17:14
Last Modified:10 Nov 2021 17:51

Repository Staff Only: item control page