A Caltech Library Service

Biospheric Primary Production During an ENSO Transition

Behrenfeld, Michael J. and Randerson, James T. and McClain, Charles R. and Feldman, Gene C. and Los, Sietse O. and Tucker, Compton J. and Falkowski, Paul J. and Field, Christopher B. and Frouin, Robert and Esaias, Wayne E. and Kolber, Dorota D. and Pollack, Nathan H. (2001) Biospheric Primary Production During an ENSO Transition. Science, 291 (5513). pp. 2594-2597. ISSN 0036-8075. doi:10.1126/science.1055071.

Full text is not posted in this repository. Consult Related URLs below.

Use this Persistent URL to link to this item:


The Sea-viewing Wide Field-of-view Sensor (SeaWiFS) provides global monthly measurements of both oceanic phytoplankton chlorophyll biomass and light harvesting by land plants. These measurements allowed the comparison of simultaneous ocean and land net primary production (NPP) responses to a major El Niño to La Niña transition. Between September 1997 and August 2000, biospheric NPP varied by 6 petagrams of carbon per year (from 111 to 117 petagrams of carbon per year). Increases in ocean NPP were pronounced in tropical regions where El Niño–Southern Oscillation (ENSO) impacts on upwelling and nutrient availability were greatest. Globally, land NPP did not exhibit a clear ENSO response, although regional changes were substantial.

Item Type:Article
Related URLs:
URLURL TypeDescription 10.1126/science.1055071DOIArticle
Randerson, James T.0000-0001-6559-7387
Additional Information:© 2001 American Association for the Advancement of Science. 21 August 2000; accepted 12 February 2001. We thank members of the SeaWiFS Project Office and Orbimage Orbview-2 support staff for their diligent efforts in assuring the success of the SeaWiFS mission, NASA Headquarters for supporting the SeaWiFS project, B. Limketkai for technical assistance, and E. Stanley.
Funding AgencyGrant Number
Issue or Number:5513
Record Number:CaltechAUTHORS:20141118-085746566
Persistent URL:
Official Citation:Biospheric Primary Production During an ENSO Transition Michael J. Behrenfeld, James T. Randerson, Charles R. McClain, Gene C. Feldman, Sietse O. Los, Compton J. Tucker, Paul G. Falkowski, Christopher B. Field, Robert Frouin, Wayne E. Esaias, Dorota D. Kolber, and Nathan H. Pollack Science 30 March 2001: 291 (5513), 2594-2597. [DOI:10.1126/science.1055071]
Usage Policy:No commercial reproduction, distribution, display or performance rights in this work are provided.
ID Code:51882
Deposited By: Ruth Sustaita
Deposited On:18 Nov 2014 17:49
Last Modified:10 Nov 2021 19:17

Repository Staff Only: item control page