A Caltech Library Service

Advanced cold molecule electron EDM

Campbell, Wesley C. and Chan, Cheong and DeMille, David and Doyle, John M. and Gabrielse, Gerald and Gurevich, Yulia V. and Hess, Paul W. and Hutzler, Nicholas R. and Kirilov, Emil and O'Leary, Brendon and Petrik, Elizabeth S. and Spaun, Ben and Vutha, Amar C. (2013) Advanced cold molecule electron EDM. In: ICAP 2012-23Rd. International Conference on Atomic Physics. EPJ Web of Conferences. No.57. EDP Sciences , France, Art. No. 02004. ISBN 9781632662033.

[img] PDF - Published Version
Creative Commons Attribution.

[img] PDF - Accepted Version
See Usage Policy.


Use this Persistent URL to link to this item:


Measurement of a non-zero electric dipole moment (EDM) of the electron within a few orders of magnitude of the current best limit of |d_e| < 1.05 × 10^(−27) e⋅cm [1] would be an indication of physics beyond the Standard Model. The ACME Collaboration is searching for an electron EDM by performing a precision measurement of electron spin precession in the metastable H^3Δ_1 state of thorium monoxide (ThO) using a slow, cryogenic beam. We discuss the current status of the experiment. Based on a data set acquired from 14 hours of running time over a period of 2 days, we have achieved a 1-sigma statistical uncertainty of δd_e = 1 × 10^(−28) e⋅cm/√T, where T is the running time in days.

Item Type:Book Section
Related URLs:
URLURL TypeDescription Paper
Hess, Paul W.0000-0003-2985-4221
Hutzler, Nicholas R.0000-0002-5203-3635
Additional Information:© 2013 Owned by the authors, published by EDP Sciences. This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License 2.0, which permits unrestricted use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original work is properly cited. Published online: 30 August 2013.
Series Name:EPJ Web of Conferences
Issue or Number:57
Record Number:CaltechAUTHORS:20170831-132953555
Persistent URL:
Official Citation:Advanced cold molecule electron EDM Wesley C. Campbell, Cheong Chan, David DeMille, John M. Doyle, Gerald Gabrielse, Yulia V. Gurevich, Paul W. Hess, Nicholas R. Hutzler, Emil Kirilov, Brendon O'Leary, Elizabeth S. Petrik, Ben Spaun and Amar C. Vutha EPJ Web of Conferences, 57 (2013) 02004 DOI:
Usage Policy:No commercial reproduction, distribution, display or performance rights in this work are provided.
ID Code:81024
Deposited By: Ruth Sustaita
Deposited On:05 Sep 2017 17:49
Last Modified:15 Nov 2021 19:40

Repository Staff Only: item control page