A Caltech Library Service

The William Bowie medal: Citation and acceptance

Anderson, Don L. and Press, Frank (1979) The William Bowie medal: Citation and acceptance. Eos, 60 (30). p. 539. ISSN 0096-3941. doi:10.1029/EO060i030p00539.

[img] PDF - Published Version
See Usage Policy.


Use this Persistent URL to link to this item:


The forty‐first presentation of the William Bowie Medal goes to Frank Press for outstanding contributions to fundamental geophysics and for unselfish cooperation in research. Frank Press joins the ranks of the distinguished seismologists who have received the Bowie Medal. Reading the list of medalists takes one through almost the entire history of seismology. Previous medalists include James B. Macelwane, Harold Jeffreys, Beno Gutenbert, Maurice Ewing, Hugo Benioff, Louis Slichter, and Inge Lehmann, and it is appropriate that Frank Press is now a member of this distinguished group. You may know that Frank has worked with many of these people. As much as anyone, Press built the bridge from their classical tradition to what we look on today as modern seismology.

Item Type:Article
Related URLs:
URLURL TypeDescription
Additional Information:© 1979 American Geophysical Union. First published: 24 July 1979.
Issue or Number:30
Record Number:CaltechAUTHORS:20181205-091547033
Persistent URL:
Official Citation:Anderson, D. L., and F. Press (1979), The William Bowie medal: Citation and acceptance, Eos Trans. AGU, 60(30), 539–539, doi: 10.1029/EO060i030p00539
Usage Policy:No commercial reproduction, distribution, display or performance rights in this work are provided.
ID Code:91493
Deposited By: Tony Diaz
Deposited On:05 Dec 2018 17:27
Last Modified:16 Nov 2021 03:41

Repository Staff Only: item control page