A Caltech Library Service

Widespread presence of direction-reversing neurons in the mouse visual system

Billeh, Yazan N. and Iyer, Ramakrishnan and Wahle, Iman A. and Caldejon, Shiella and Durand, Séverine and Groblewski, Peter A. and Larkin, Josh D. and Lecoq, Jerome and Williford, Ali and Mihalas, Stefan and Arkhipov, Anton and de Vries, Saskia E. J. (2019) Widespread presence of direction-reversing neurons in the mouse visual system. . (Unpublished)

[img] PDF - Submitted Version
Creative Commons Attribution Non-commercial.


Use this Persistent URL to link to this item:


Direction selectivity, the preference of motion in one direction over the opposite, is a fundamental property of visual neurons across species. We find that a substantial proportion of direction selective neurons in the mouse visual system reverse their preferred direction of motion in response to drifting gratings at different spatiotemporal parameters. A spatiotemporally asymmetric filter model recapitulates our experimental observations.

Item Type:Report or Paper (Discussion Paper)
Related URLs:
URLURL TypeDescription Paper
Billeh, Yazan N.0000-0001-5200-4992
Durand, Séverine0000-0002-2415-6793
Additional Information:The copyright holder for this preprint is the author/funder, who has granted bioRxiv a license to display the preprint in perpetuity. It is made available under a CC-BY-NC 4.0 International license. bioRxiv preprint first posted online Oct. 31, 2019. We thank the Allen Institute founder, Paul G. Allen, for his vision, encouragement, and support. Author Contributions: Conceptualization: YNB, SEJdV. Methodology: YNB, SEJdV, RI, AA, SM. Formal Analysis: YNB, SEJdV, RI, IW. Data Collection: JL, JDL, SC, AW, PG, SD; Writing-Original: YNB, SEJdV; Writing – Review and Editing: YNB, SEJdV, RI, AA.
Funding AgencyGrant Number
Paul G. Allen Family FoundationUNSPECIFIED
Record Number:CaltechAUTHORS:20191101-084305547
Persistent URL:
Official Citation:Widespread presence of direction-reversing neurons in the mouse visual system. Yazan N Billeh, Ramakrishnan Iyer, Iman A Wahle, Shiella Caldejon, Séverine Durand, Peter A Groblewski, Josh D Larkin, Jerome Lecoq, Ali Williford, Stefan Mihalas, Anton Arkhipov, Saskia E J de Vries. bioRxiv 826701; doi:
Usage Policy:No commercial reproduction, distribution, display or performance rights in this work are provided.
ID Code:99609
Deposited By: Tony Diaz
Deposited On:01 Nov 2019 16:29
Last Modified:16 Nov 2021 17:47

Repository Staff Only: item control page