Welcome to the new version of CaltechAUTHORS. Login is currently restricted to library staff. If you notice any issues, please email coda@library.caltech.edu
Published July 24, 1979 | Published
Journal Article Open

The William Bowie medal: Citation and acceptance


The forty‐first presentation of the William Bowie Medal goes to Frank Press for outstanding contributions to fundamental geophysics and for unselfish cooperation in research. Frank Press joins the ranks of the distinguished seismologists who have received the Bowie Medal. Reading the list of medalists takes one through almost the entire history of seismology. Previous medalists include James B. Macelwane, Harold Jeffreys, Beno Gutenbert, Maurice Ewing, Hugo Benioff, Louis Slichter, and Inge Lehmann, and it is appropriate that Frank Press is now a member of this distinguished group. You may know that Frank has worked with many of these people. As much as anyone, Press built the bridge from their classical tradition to what we look on today as modern seismology.

Additional Information

© 1979 American Geophysical Union. First published: 24 July 1979.

Attached Files

Published - Anderson_et_al-1979-Eos_2C_Transactions_American_Geophysical_Union.pdf


Files (376.1 kB)

Additional details

August 19, 2023
October 19, 2023