Welcome to the new version of CaltechAUTHORS. Login is currently restricted to library staff. If you notice any issues, please email coda@library.caltech.edu
Published April 25, 2013 | Published
Journal Article Open

Measurement of the W^+W^− and ZZ production cross sections in pp collisions at √s = 8 TeV


The W+W− and ZZ production cross sections are measured in proton–proton collisions at √s = 8 TeV with the CMS experiment at the LHC in data samples corresponding to an integrated luminosity of up to 5.3 fb^(−1). The measurements are performed in the leptonic decay modes W^+W^− → ℓ'vℓ"ν and ZZ → 2ℓ2ℓ', where ℓ = e,μ,τ and ℓ'(ℓ") = e,μ,τ . The measured cross sections σ(pp → W^+W^− = 69.9±2.8(stat.)±5.6(syst.)±3.1(lum.) pb and σ(pp→ZZ) = 8.4±1.0(stat.)±0.7(syst.)±0.4(lum.) pb, for both Z bosons produced in the mass region 60 < mZ < 120 GeV, are consistent with standard model predictions. These are the first measurements of the diboson production cross sections at √s =8 TeV.

Additional Information

© 2013 CERN. Published by Elsevier B.V. CERN for the benefit of the CMS Collaboration. Received 20 January 2013. Received in revised form 10 March 2013. Accepted 18 March 2013. Available online 25 March 2013. Editor: M. Doser. This article is published Open Access at sciencedirect.com. It is distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License 3.0, which permits unrestricted use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original authors and source are credited. We congratulate our colleagues in the CERN accelerator departments for the excellent performance of the LHC and thank the technical and administrative staffs at CERN and at other CMS institutes for their contributions to the success of the CMS effort. In addition, we gratefully acknowledge the computing centers and personnel of the Worldwide LHC Computing Grid for delivering so effectively the computing infrastructure essential to our analyses. Finally, we acknowledge the enduring support for the construction and operation of the LHC and the CMS detector provided by the following funding agencies: BMWF and FWF (Austria); FNRS and FWO (Belgium); CNPq, CAPES, FAPERJ, and FAPESP (Brazil); MEYS (Bulgaria); CERN; CAS, MoST, and NSFC (China); COLCIENCIAS (Colombia); MSES (Croatia); RPF (Cyprus); MoER, SF0690030s09 and ERDF (Estonia); Academy of Finland, MEC, and HIP (Finland); CEA and CNRS/IN2P3 (France); BMBF, DFG, and HGF (Germany); GSRT (Greece); OTKA and NKTH (Hungary); DAE and DST (India); IPM (Iran); SFI (Ireland); INFN (Italy); NRF and WCU (Republic of Korea); LAS (Lithuania); CINVESTAV, CONACYT, SEP, and UASLP-FAI (Mexico); MSI (New Zealand); PAEC (Pakistan); MSHE and NSC (Poland); FCT (Portugal); JINR (Armenia, Belarus, Georgia, Ukraine, Uzbekistan); MON, RosAtom, RAS and RFBR (Russia); MSTD (Serbia); SEIDI and CPAN (Spain); Swiss Funding Agencies (Switzerland); NSC (Taipei); ThEPCenter, IPST and NSTDA (Thailand); TUBITAK and TAEK (Turkey); NASU (Ukraine); STFC (United Kingdom); DOE and NSF (USA).

Attached Files

Published - 1-s2.0-S0370269313002529-main.pdf


Files (590.1 kB)
Name Size Download all
590.1 kB Preview Download

Additional details

August 19, 2023
October 23, 2023